Self Test: Detoxing

water infused (6)

I know that nothing’s proven concerning “detoxing”, some even say it’s only a myth distributed by media. Still, I use this word for my way of treatment where my body is nourished by liquid only, or at least mainly. I didn’t feel too comfortable last week, as I still felt stomach ache, which started occurring during Easter break. Therefore, I decided to make an experiment which I now call “detoxing”. I wanted to see how I would feel after a day only fuelled by smoothies, soups, juices and water.

This was my meal plan:

Breakfast:

Green Breakfast Smoothie Bowl, topped with amaranth and chopped almonds

– 1 large cup of hot lemon infused water

– 1 large cup of green tea

Lunch:

Carrot, Lentil and Lime Soup

Dinner:

– Smoothie-Bowl

– 1/2 a mashed avocado with chili flakes and paprika

– 1 large cup of stinging nettle tea

Snacks and Drinks:

– Apple and Cinnamon Yoghurt

– Carrot and Red Radish Cream

– several glasses of lemon and cucumber infused water (mostly warm)

– 1/2 a glass of beetroot juice, mixed with 1/2 a glass of water

smoothie bowl green breakfast (4)

I started my day with my delicious Green Breakfast Smoothie Bowl, topped with some amaranth and chopped almonds. I had a large cup of hot lemon infused water and a cup of green tea. Normally, I’ld have porridge and fruits for breakfast, which is in fact much more filling than a smoothie. This is why I was hungry again soon. In fact, I didn’t feel really satisfied during that day and I missed chewing a lot! This is why I allowed myself to have a bliss ball and a granola bar, which I both had in my fridge. This fuelled me up again. All in all, it was kind of hard not having anything with a bite, not even a piece of fruit or vegetable. Besides, I felt more tired than on other days. I definitely had enough sleep the night before, but still I wasn’t able to focus as well as usually. Normally, I’m never feeling tired during my day. I think the reason for my tiredness might have been the fact that I cut back on carbs during the whole day, but this is just a guess, I’m no expert.

cream carrot and red radish (1)

But, there are two very positive things about my experiment: Firstly, my stomach did feel really comfortable that day. In the evening I had the impression it was completely calm and I started looking forward to a lovely “normal” breakfast again, as my stomach felt renewed and I think I’ve now overcome that ache which was caused during Easter break due to eating in restaurants nearly every single day and taking part in the ritually chocolate eating on Easter Sunday and Monday. With this break I made yesterday, I think I was able to cure the last bit of an uncomfortable feeling and now I’m feeling ready to go back to my normal, healthy, mostly plant-based diet, which I’m really looking forward to, as it always makes me feel so good!

soup lentil carrot and lime new (5)

The other positive thing is, that this day made me be really creative. I created a new recipe for a soup that’s beyond delicious, for a lovely creamy and healthy desert and a veggie snack. I enjoyed this part of my day a lot, as it’s always fun to invent new recipes, which I’ll be happy to share on my blog soon.

All in all, it was a very nice and interesting experience. What I’ve learned is, that if your stomach is feeling really uncomfortable, it’s definitely a good idea to let it rest and to have a day of “detoxing”. It will make you feel better again. Still, I couldn’t do this on a regular basis without a real need caused by pain. What I do need is a breakfast including healthy carbs like oats and above all I need to chew my food. I missed this a lot. I think having a day like this, which is really easy on a weekend, is worth a try for everyone, making you experience your body from a new point of view.

One thought on “Self Test: Detoxing

  1. Pingback: Carrot, Lentil and Lime Soup | The Green Bowl

Leave a comment